Ten with the Team: Bridget Bott, Digital Communications Intern

 

internbio
Intern Bridget featured with HSNEGA adoptable, Jep

Also new to the intern team is Bridget Bott, Digital Communications intern. Bridget is originally from Flowery Branch, GA and grew up familiar with HSNEGA. She is currently in her last semester of college at the University of Georgia, pursuing her A.B.J in Advertising with a minor in Sociology.

1. What made you choose an internship with us?

Last semester I was enrolled in a leadership course in which a guest speaker motivated us to find a point where our passions, abilities and opportunities collided. My biggest passion in life has always been my animals, and I knew that I had a strong ability in my field of advertising and social media, so I really just needed the opportunity! As fate would have it, I learned about this internship only a few days after that, and it seemed like a no-brainer. Interning at HSNEGA is the perfect opportunity for me to not only prepare myself for life after graduation, but to also immerse myself into an environment that I absolutely love!

2. What do you typically do as a Digital Communications Intern?

My day usually consists of coming up with fun social media posts, editing photo collages (I’m a self proclaimed photoshop nerd), and working with social media analytics. Analytics is actually super cool to me because I love understanding why and how our posts are successful. I also occasionally help with some event planning, and dabble in video production as well!

3. What do you love most about interning here at HSNEGA?

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with animals, so my favorite part is probably just being around the animals literally all. the. time. It’s heaven! I really love that there’s such a wide range of opportunities for me here, and I don’t feel like it’s just a typical intern position. I’m getting to learn a lot and hone in on where I want to possibly go from here. Plus, I strongly feel like I’m doing something for more than just myself, and that’s a wonderful feeling!

4. What is the most rewarding thing about doing your internship here at HSNEGA?

My family has adopted several animals from HSNEGA over the years, and they have brought us so much joy. Definitely the most rewarding thing is knowing that I have a small part in helping give other people and animals the experience that I’ve had! Social media is obviously a huge component of publicity in today’s culture, and knowing that anything I may post has an impact on giving these wonderful animals homes is amazing to me. Additionally, I feel like interning here is my way of giving back to HSNEGA and thanking them for helping us adopt some of my family’s most valuable members!

5. Do you have any plans for after graduation?

I’d really love to continue working in the non-profit sector! I’ve considered a lot of options, but I think I’d be extremely happy doing public relations and digital media management for some sort of animal-related organization. Long term, my fiancé and I hope to move to Colorado, and I really want to start my own non-profit using animals as a way to build and develop leadership skills. You can’t get anywhere without dreams, right??

6. Do you have pets of your own?

Goodness, yes. Together, my fiancé and I have two dogs, Meekah (Canaan mix) and Moose (Dutch Shepherd mix). They are probably the light of my life. I also have a retired Thoroughbred and have ridden horses for 15 years. Back at my parent’s houses, my mom has a Boxer and two cats, and my dad has two Lab mixes, one whippet and a cat! (We really like animals, if you can’t tell. ;))

7. If you could tell one person, “Thank you!” for helping you become the person you are today, who would that be?

I know this is a cliché answer, but I would have to go with my dad. Though sometimes we’re too similar for our own good, he taught me how to work hard for the things I want in life, and gave me a strong understanding of responsibility from a young age. He’s always encouraged me to reach for the highest endeavors possible and is probably one of my biggest fans. Thanks dad!

8. What mottos do you live by? 

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. Life is about taking risks- sometimes they work and sometimes they don’t. The past three years of my life have changed who I am as a person significantly, but they wouldn’t have happened if I didn’t push the envelope a bit!

9. How do you recharge?

My favorite thing to do on my days off is to go for a run with my dog Meekah and then taking some time to hang out at the dog park. I’m also prone to the occasional Netflix binge with a big cup of coffee in hand!

10. Is there anything else that inspires you?

I’m very, very involved in the sport of Colorguard and the performing arts. Dance and movement as an art form is the largest, most expressive part of my life. Watching a well put together piece of choreography can make me feel emotion in ways that nothing else can.

 

Leave a Reply

