Ten with the Team: Becky Simpson, Surgical Veterinary Assistant

beckyThis installment of Ten with the Team highlights a member of HSNEGA’s Spay/Neuter Center staff. Rebecca “Becky” Simpson started with HSNEGA in November 2014 and, in the past 10 months, has been an integral part of our surgical team, assisting with 5,200+ surgeries for companion animals in our community.

1.  Tell us briefly about your current position.

I am part of HSNEGA Spay/Neuter surgical team. Our team performs 30 to 35 surgeries a day for companion and rescued animals.

2. What do you love most about your work?

I enjoy the interaction with the animals and helping owners control the pet population. I also enjoy spending time with the rescued animals in our care while I’m on break.

3. What accomplishment during your tenure makes you the most proud?

The number of animals that have recovered successfully from surgery.  Our complication rate is incredibly low for the volume of animals we serve, and it is always a wonderful feeling to send the animals safely home to their owners.

4. What is your most memorable story involving HSNEGA?

One of our volunteers rescued a chicken that had fallen off a chicken transport truck.  She brought it to HSNEGA and I was fortunate enough to be asked to try and help her.  I took her home and cared for her until she succumbed to her injuries.  Although I did not have her long, she was loved.  It is always heartwarming to see people’s compassion towards animals.

5. If you were to tell one person “Thank You!” for helping me become the person I am today, who would that be?

I would thank my husband Bob Simpson.  He has taught me how to enjoy life and he has made me a better person.

6. What mottos do you live by?

Take one day at a time.  Enjoy the day like it is your last.  I think every day is a blessing. 

7. What inspires you?

People who show compassion inspire me.  I think that is one of the most important traits a person can have.

8. What would you be doing if you weren’t in animal welfare?

I would probably have continued my career in human health care.

9. How do you recharge?

I love to come home and take my dogs out for a walk with the chickens.  They are such a wonderful group.  I also love to spend time with my family. They always know how to make me happy.

10. What super power would you like to have?

I would choose to have the power to heal humans and animals.  Everyone would be happy and healthy.

Leave a Reply

